gatedcontent
TYPO3

Gatedcontent is lead-capture extension for TYPO3. The extension provides editors with a configurable form element to collect user data. In exchange for personal information like e-mail address, name, company etc., visitors can access downloads or a single TYPO3 page. Those assets cannot be accessed directly, by passing on a link or by any other short-cut by-passing registration.

composer require dpool/gatedcontent

gated content: the heart of inbound marketing.

Gated content is online content that users can only access after registering. Content providers deliver valuable insight in all kinds of formats, ranging from articles, videos and white papers, to podcasts and webinars. To gain access to your best content, users are willing to provide real names, email, phone numbers and other data in exchange, effectively creating Marketing Qualified Leads (MQL’s)

Quality and relevance drive interest

From a content marketing point of view, content that is worth the effort of registering must be of real value to the users. To safely make that claim and convince users to share their personal details, they must be able to experience the quality of the content you are sharing.

That means what you share before registration must be very well targeted and presented in the right fashion, to make your audience understand the level of relevance and quality that awaits them. As a rule of thumb: the balance between what is freely available and what is kept behind the gate, is crucial to your inbound marketing success.

What does good gated content look like? It is obvious that gated content has to be of high quality. If the content is uninteresting, the provider doesn't just annoy the customer. It also damages its own image. As a rule, content that is suitable for gating offers easy solutions for target group-specific problems. It depends not only on the problem solving itself, but also on the way of the presentation:

  • The content must prove the competence of the provider.
  • It must be easy to read and understand at the same time.

Ideally, the customer will connect the solution to their personal problem with the brand, website or blog. Then an essential marketing goal for gated content has been achieved. Gated content has many advantages:

  • The limited access alone gives the content greater added value. The user classifies the received content as premium content from the outset. Of course, this expectation must not be disappointed. The access restriction alone is not a quality feature.
  • A customer's willingness to divulge data is an important indicator that they are genuinely interested. And it is precisely this meta-information that the user provides by filling out a form.

Why technology matters

  • configurable forns let you capture what you really need to know
  • any kind of target content can be placed “behind the gate”
  • dependable security make by-passing your gate impossible
  • functionality and design is embedded in your TYPO3 CMS, no second loginm, no further external templates to worry about.

Some tech-talk

Adjustable templates

Templates for the form and content element are programmed with fluid an can easily be adjusted in your project.

Quickstart for bootstrap

The standard templates of the extension use bootstrap classes in order to give you a head-start if your project is already using bootstrap as a frontend-framework.

Leverage the TYPO3 event dispatcher

If you need to collect the user data directly to the CRM-system you simply have to implement an event listener to intercept the user data after the extension has secured the process.

Full control over communication

Each instance of the form can be individualized with heading, text, image and you have full control over the content of the e-mails going to the visitor.

Frequently Asked Questions?

How is my content protected?

Securing the actual content is not done by the extension. Gated files should be placed in a part of the file-system that is not directly accessible over the internet - either via folder directive (ie. htaccess protection on an apache-server or the like) or by placing the file outside the document root of the website. Gated pages should be protected using the built-in TYPO3 user group mechanism.

Does the form have spam-protection?

Yes. We are using a honeypot mechanism.

Can I approve requests manually?

Yes. The extension provides an optional email-based confirmation mechanism.

Is the implementation DSVGO-conform?

Yes. The extension provides an email-based Double-Opt-In mechanism to ensure a good degree of verification of intend.

Does the extension store user data in the database?

Saving user data in the database is optional and can be configured vi TypoScript.

Does the extension integrate with CRM-Systems?

Currently, the only built-in behaviour is sending an e-mail containing the collected user data to one or more e-mail addresses. However, the extension broadcasts collected user data via the TYPO3 event dispatcher - after the configured Double-Opt-In and/or confirmation mechanisms have had their say. Making it easy for an integrator to implement a tailored solution for your project.

Can users opt-in to my newsletter via the gated content form?

The built-in list of form elements contains a checkbox “newsletter” which can be used to get used confirmation to be included in a company newsletter. Currently, there is no automated integration with any newsletter systems.

Can I use it without composer?

No. The extension requires 3rd-party composer packages to run properly. It may be possible to tweak this manually. However, we have not tried it.

Impressions

Contact us!

gatedcontent
TYPO3

Gatedcontent ist eine Lead-Capture-Erweiterung für TYPO3. Die Erweiterung bietet Editoren ein konfigurierbares Formularelement zum Sammeln von Benutzerdaten. Im Austausch gegen persönliche Informationen wie E-Mail-Adresse, Name, Firma usw. können Besucher auf Downloads oder eine einzelne TYPO3-Seite zugreifen, die ohne die Registrierung nicht zugänglich wären.

composer require dpool/gatedcontent

Gated Content: Im Zentrum von Inbound-Marketing.

Gated Content ist Online-Content, auf den Benutzer erst nach einer Registrierung zugreifen können. Inhaltsanbieter bieten wertvolle Einblicke in alle Arten von Formaten, von Artikeln, Videos und White Papers bis hin zu Podcasts und Webinaren. Um Zugriff auf die besten Inhalte zu erhalten, sind Benutzer bereit, im Austausch echte Namen, E-Mails, Telefonnummern und andere Daten anzugeben, um effektiv Marketing Qualified Leads (MMS) zu erstellen.

Qualität und Relevanz fördern das Interesse

Aus Sicht des Content-Marketings müssen die Inhalte für die Benutzer von echtem Wert sein, um eine Registrierung zu rechtfertigen. Um diesen Anspruch sicher geltend zu machen und Benutzer davon zu überzeugen, ihre persönlichen Daten weiterzugeben, müssen Besucher in der Lage sein, die Qualität der von Ihnen freigegebenen Inhalte zu erfahren.

Das bedeutet, dass das, was Sie vor der Registrierung teilen, sehr zielgerichtet und in der richtigen Weise präsentiert werden muss, damit Ihr Publikum den Grad an Relevanz und Qualität einschätzen kann. Als Faustregel gilt: Das Gleichgewicht zwischen dem, was frei verfügbar ist und dem, was sich hinter der Registrierung befindet, ist entscheidend für Ihren Erfolg im Inbound-Marketing.

Wie sieht guter Gated Content aus? Es ist offensichtlich, dass Gated Content von hoher Qualität sein muss. Wenn der Inhalt uninteressant ist, nervt der Anbieter nicht nur den Kunden. Es schädigt auch sein eigenes Image. Für eine Registrierung geeignete Inhalte bieten in der Regel einfache Lösungen für zielgruppenspezifische Probleme. Es kommt nicht nur auf die Problemlösung an, sondern auch auf die Art der Präsentation:

  • Die Inhalte müssen die Kompetenz des Anbieters nachweisen.
  • Sie müssen gleichzeitig leicht zu lesen und zu verstehen sein.

Im Idealfall verbindet der Kunde die Lösung mit der Marke, Website oder dem Blog mit seinem persönlichen Problem. Dann wurde ein wesentliches Marketingziel für Gated Content erreicht. Gated Content hat viele Vorteile:

  • Allein der eingeschränkte Zugriff erhöht den Mehrwert des Inhalts. Der Benutzer klassifiziert den empfangenen Inhalt von Anfang an als Premium-Inhalt. Natürlich darf diese Erwartung nicht enttäuscht werden. Eine Zugriffsbeschränkung allein ist kein Qualitätsmerkmal.
  • Die Bereitschaft eines Kunden, Daten preiszugeben, ist ein wichtiger Indikator dafür, dass er wirklich interessiert ist. Und genau diese Metainformationen liefert der Benutzer durch Ausfüllen eines Formulars.

Warum Technologie wichtig ist

  • Mit konfigurierbaren Forumlaren können Sie erfassen, was Sie wirklich wissen müssen
  • Jede Art von Zielinhalt kann „hinter die Registrierung“ platziert werden.
  • Zuverlässige Sicherheit macht das Umgehen Ihres Tores unmöglich
  • Funktionalität und Design sind in Ihr TYPO3-CMS eingebettet, kein zweiter Login, keine weiteren externen Systeme, über die Sie sich Sorgen machen müssen.

Aus der Entwickler-Ecke

Anpassbare Templates

Vorlagen für das Formular- und Inhaltselement sind in Fluid programmiert und können problemlos in Ihrem Projekt angepasst werden.

Schneller mit Bootstrap

Die Standardvorlagen der Erweiterung verwenden Bootstrap-Klassen. Das macht den Einsatz spielend leicht, wenn Ihr Projekt bereits Bootstrap als Frontend-Framework verwendet.

Arbeiten mit dem TYPO3 event dispatcher

Wenn Sie die Benutzerdaten direkt im CRM-System erfassen müssen, müssen Sie lediglich einen Event-Listener implementieren, um die Benutzerdaten abzufangen, nachdem die Erweiterung den Prozess gesichert hat.

Volle Kontrolle über die Kommunikation

Jede Instanz des Formulars kann mit Überschrift, Text und Bild individualisiert werden, und Sie haben die volle Kontrolle über den Inhalt der E-Mails, die an den Besucher gesendet werden.

Häufig gestellte Fragen?

Wie sind meine Inhalte abgesichert?

Das Sichern des eigentlichen Inhalts erfolgt nicht durch die Erweiterung. Dateien sollten in einem Teil des Dateisystems abgelegt werden, auf den über das Internet nicht direkt zugegriffen werden kann - entweder über eine Ordneranweisung (dh Zugriffsschutz auf einem Apache-Server oder dergleichen) oder durch Platzieren der Datei außerhalb der Document-Root der Webseite. Seiten sollten mithilfe des integrierten TYPO3-Benutzergruppenmechanismus geschützt werden.

Verfügt das Formular über SPAM-protection?

Ja. Wir nutzen die Honeypot-Methode.

Können die Anfragen auch manuell freigegeben werden?

Ja. Die Erweiterung bietet einen optionalen E-Mail basierten Bestätigungsmechanismus.

Ist die Implementierung DSVGO-konform?

Ja. Die Erweiterung bietet einen E-Mail basierten Double-Opt-In-Mechanismus.

Speichert die Erweiterung Benutzerdaten in der Datenbank?

Das Speichern von Benutzerdaten in der Datenbank ist optional und kann über TypoScript konfiguriert werden.

Ist die Erweiterung in CRM-Systeme integriert?

Derzeit ist das einzige integrierte Verhalten das Senden einer E-Mail mit den gesammelten Benutzerdaten an eine oder mehrere E-Mail-Adressen. Die Erweiterung sendet jedoch gesammelte Benutzerdaten über den TYPO3-Event-Dispatcher - nachdem die konfigurierten Double-Opt-In- und / oder Bestätigungsmechanismen zu Wort gekommen sind. Das erleichtert einem Integrator die Implementierung einer maßgeschneiderten Lösung für Ihr Projekt.

Können sich Benutzer über das Gated Content-Formular für meinen Newsletter anmelden?

Die integrierte Liste der Formularelemente enthält eine Checkbox „Newsletter“, mit dem die Bestätigung für die Aufnahme in einen Unternehmensnewsletter abgerufen werden kann. Derzeit gibt es keine automatisierte Integration in Newsletter-Systeme.

Brauche ich unbedingt composer, um die Erweiterung zu installieren?

Ja. Für die Erweiterung müssen Composer-Pakete von Drittanbietern ordnungsgemäß installiert werden.

Eindrücke

Kontaktieren Sie uns!